The gift, of grief

How does death change your perspective?

Breath is a gift that not everyone receives.

My first born…

….nearly died following a hit & run automobile collision. He was a 4 yr old pedestrian that became ensnared in a horrific scenario that changed both of our lives forever.

I sat by his hospital bed, praying that he’d regain consciousness, vowing to be the most loving mother that any child could be blessed with should he be granted the opportunity to receive what I have to offer him.

I didn’t know if he’d survive.

Thankfully, he did.

My third son was born still.

The physical, emotional, and spiritual pain was indescribable.

My sixth son grew his tiny, perfect wings at 8 days of life.

I thought my own heart would stop beating.

I am no stranger to grief.

I have learned the value of every moment that we’re blessed to share with our loved ones.

I do not take a breath for granted.

I cherish and give thanks, for each and every day above the dirt.

I love with everything in me.

I forgive quickly, but not always quietly.

I value my voice, my time, and my solace.

I believe in healthy boundaries.

I am blessed, beyond measure, to have held not one, but two angels, in my soul.

The gift of death has taught me many valuable lessons, and has moulded me into the woman that I’m proud to be.

The moon is my constant, end of day companion.

Carpe diem. Seize the day.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.